Search results

1. Jim

Kiowa Grasslands, Mills Canyon Campground

Morris Glad you visited the place, it is interesting. Definitely a spring or fall destination due to the heat. Need to pay attention to the rain as well. We've been having quite a year for precip here with a lot of locally heavy downpours. Jim
  2. Jim

Beginner here - help appreciated

Jared I cannot help with specifics in your area but here are some resources that should help in general: --Book: Guide To Colorado Backroads & 4-Wheel-Drive Trails by Charles Wells & Matt Peterson --Book: Colorado Trails Central Region by Peter Massey (I recall that Massey drove a Suburban?)...
  3. Jim

Southwest Colorado trip, Medano Pass to the Alpine loop

That deep spot was not there on May19. Maybe the beavers have been busy. Nice write-up....thanks. I took note of the lack of crowds in your photos. That was a surprise.
  4. Jim

Man Rassles Carburetor

I enjoy most of Fred Reed's essays. I like this one a lot. Maybe because it reminds me of me when working on mechanical stuff. DATE: 03/29/18 AUTHOR: Fred Reed LINK: https://fredoneverything.org/in-which-embattled-manhood-rassles-a-carburetor-and-is-discomfited-2/ Embattled Manhood Rassles...
  5. Jim

The Jeep We Can Buy But Can’t Drive

DATE: 03/30/18 SOURCE: Eric Peters Autos LINK: https://www.ericpetersautos.com/2018/03/30/the-jeep-we-can-buy-but-cant-drive/ Use the link to read entire article. [begin excerpt] I’ve written before about low-cost, simple vehicles the car companies aren’t allowed to sell here because they...
  6. Jim

Mills Canyon is about an hour from here. NOTE: Springer NM is on the route to Mills. We stopped there for fuel and the local cops were pulling people over right and left. Got the impression the town is a speed trap. Thought of another option in this area. Cimarron Canyon State Park has 3...
  7. Jim

Never been to a M&G. I was in Canon City CO but recently moved to Raton NM.
  8. Jim