Beginner here - help appreciated

Discussion in 'Overland Trip Planning' started by Koopdaddy, Oct 9, 2018.

1. Koopdaddy

Koopdaddy New Member

Hi there,

As mentioned in my introduction above, my family of 6 would like to begin exploring through camping and eventually overlanding. We are located on the front range in Loveland, CO and basically looking for advice and suggestions on where to start. We would love to partner up with someone that is also into doing this sort of thing and is willing and able to help us along, maybe even go on some expeditions together. We are not exactly looking to go extreme off-roading and bouldering, but more just getting out there exploring the road less traveled. I'm not a big fan of highway campgrounds and would really much rather go somewhere that gives the kids an experience to last a lifetime and maybe make some lifelong friends within the community. With that in mind....

I have not done any sort of overlanding or really any off-roading before. So let's take a look at what I do have as far as a vehicle and you tell me if this is a good idea or not. I have a 2004 Chevy Suburban 2500 LT with the 8.1l engine. It is primarily used for hauling stuff for my work. It is 100% stock and I know not exactly the ideal off-road vehicle due to it's size, weight, and fuel economy. But it is what I got for now and it has enough space for all of us. What should we do to make sure the vehicle is off-road worthy and ready to go? What type of equipment is a must have regardless of vehicle?

Eventually I would like a jeep or tacoma type vehicle, but that is not for a while.
    I am really intrigued by the "overlanding" camping trailers with RTT's. In the long run I think that would be a great solution for storing and hauling what we would need for our family of 6. But until that happens, we would use traditional equipment and tents.